Master Application

Requirements

Applicants need a first university degree (Bachelor or Diploma) qualifying them for a profession in an artistic/design or humanities/cultural studies programme.

Applicants whose Bachelor’s degree comprises 180 ECTS credits must earn 30 credits in the form of additional, study-relevant achievements within the framework of a pre-semester in order to complete the Master’s programme with 300 ECTS credits. In this case, the duration of study is 4 semesters.

Applicants who are able to design project ideas or questions on the subject of research in design, art and media on the basis of university degrees other than those mentioned may be admitted if they can prove that they are particularly qualified to study.

Applicants require proof of a German language test (Europalevel B2) if they do not have a German school or university degree.

Application

Use the online portal to apply or send us the completed and signed application form by post.

We also need the following documents:

  • A curriculum vitae in tabular form
  • Proof of a first university degree (certified copies of certificates)
  • A passport photo
  • An exposé outlining a project you would like to work on as part of the Master’s programme (2-5 pages)
  • A letter of motivation (max. 2 pages)
  • A portfolio of 1-3 current textual and/or artistic/design works relevant to the Master’s programme. The submitted works should provide an overview of your abilities and interests.
  • If you do not have a German-language school or university degree, proof of a German language test (Europalevel B2).

Admission Procedure

The admission procedure includes the examination of the submitted application documents and determines the admission to the study programme. As part of the examination, the Commission may invite applicants for an interview to ask questions about their motivation to study.

Consultation

Do you have questions about admission requirements or application?

Our study office will be happy to provide you with personal study advice. Individual counselling interviews with the head of the study programme and a tour of the university are possible by arrangement.

Consultations with professors of the Merz Akademie are also possible by appointment in Amsterdam, Paris, Berlin, Brussels, Hamburg and Vienna.

Open house

The Merz Akademie is an open house: you are welcome to come to our cafeteria for lunch and take an informal look at the university. If you would like a guided tour or further information, just let us know: 0711/26866-78

Dates

Next possible start of study (210 Credits)
Wintersemester 2019/20
Next possible start of study (180 Credits)
Sommersemester 2020
Application deadline (210 Credits)
9. September 2019
Application deadline (180 Credits)
21. Januar 2020
13. November 2019, 18 Uhr

Funding

The tuition fees for the Master’s programme currently amount to 415 euros per month. Once the standard period of study has been paid, additional semesters are free of charge.

Study now and pay according to your income later on

By participating in the solidarity model of the Income Share Agreements (ISA), students can initially concentrate fully on their studies, while Chancen eG pays the fees. In return, the participants undertake to give this opportunity to later generations: Those who work and earn more than a minimum income pay a percentage of their income to finance further study places. Other financing options such as BAföG or scholarships are independent and can be used additionally.

If you opt for this tuition fee model, please submit your application for the ISA to Chancen eG together with your application for a study contract. The documents you need for the ISA application: Your curriculum vitae, a letter of motivation and your certificates. Please note: this offer is only for first-year students.

Bewerbung Masterstudium

Voraussetzungen

Studienbewerber/innen benötigen einen ersten berufsqualifizierenden Hochschulabschluss (Bachelor oder Diplom) in einem künstlerisch/gestalterischen oder geistes-/kulturwissenschaftlichen Studiengang.

Bewerber/innen, deren Bachelor-Abschluss 180 ECTS-Credits umfasst, müssen im Rahmen eines Vorsemesters 30 Credits in Form von zusätzlichen, studienrelevanten Leistungen erbringen, um das Masterstudium mit 300 ECTS-Credits abzuschließen. Die Studiendauer ist in diesem Fall 4 Semester.

Bewerber/innen, die in der Lage sind, auf Grundlage von anderen Hochschulabschlüssen als den genannten, Projektvorstellungen oder Fragestellungen zum Thema Forschung in Gestaltung, Kunst und Medien zu entwerfen, können die Zulassung erhalten, wenn sie eine besondere Befähigung zum Studium nachweisen.

Bewerberinnen und Bewerber benötigen den Nachweis eines deutschen Sprachtests (Europalevel B2), wenn kein deutschsprachiger Schul- oder Hochschulabschluss vorliegt.

Bewerbung

Nutzen Sie zur Bewerbung das Onlineportal oder senden Sie uns das ausgefüllte und unterschriebene Bewerbungsformular per Post.

Außerdem benötigen wir folgende Unterlagen:

  1. Einen tabellarischen Lebenslauf (nicht handschriftlich)
  2. Den Nachweis eines ersten Hochschulabschlusses (beglaubigte Kopien der Zeugnisse)
  3. Ein Passfoto
  4. Ein Exposé, welches ein Projekt skizziert, mit dem Sie sich im Rahmen des Masterstudiengangs befassen möchten (2-5 Seiten)
  5. Ein Motivationsschreiben (max. 2 Seiten)
  6. Ein Portfolio mit 1-3 für den Masterstudiengang relevanten aktuellen textlichen und/oder künstlerisch/gestalterischen Arbeiten. Die eingereichten Arbeiten sollten einen Überblick über Ihre Fähigkeiten und Interessen ermöglichen.
  7. Wenn kein deutschsprachiger Schul- oder Hochschulabschluss vorliegt, den Nachweis eines deutschen Sprachtests (Europalevel B2).

Aufnahmeverfahren

Das Aufnahmeverfahren umfasst die Prüfung der eingereichten Bewerbungsunterlagen und entscheidet über die Zulassung zum Studiengang. Im Rahmen der Prüfung kann die Kommission Bewerberinnen und Bewerber zu einem Gespräch bitten, um Fragen zur Studienmotivation zu stellen.

Beratung

Haben Sie Fragen zu Zulassungsvoraussetzungen oder Bewerbung?

Unser Studienbüro bietet Ihnen gerne eine persönliche Studienberatung. Individuelle Beratungsgespräche beim Studiengangsleiter und ein Rundgang durch die Hochschule sind nach Vereinbarung möglich.

Beratungsgespräche mit Professor/innen der Merz Akademie sind nach Terminvereinbarung auch in Amsterdam, Paris, Berlin, Brüssel, Hamburg und Wien möglich.

Termine

Nächstmöglicher Studienbeginn (210 Credits)
Wintersemester 2018/19
Nächstmöglicher Studienbeginn (180 Credits)
Sommersemester 2019
Bewerbungsschluss (210 Credits)
10. September 2018, 15 Uhr im Studienbüro
Bewerbungsschluss (180 Credits)
15. November 2018, 15 Uhr
31. Oktober 2018, 18 Uhr

Kosten

Die Studiengebühren des Masterstudiengangs betragen derzeit 415,- Euro pro Monat. Ist die jeweilige Regelstudienzeit bezahlt, sind weitere Semester kostenfrei.

Jetzt studieren und später einkommensabhängig bezahlen

Mit der Beteiligung am Umgekehrten Generationenvertrag (UGV) der Chancen eG können sich die Studierenden, die sich für dieses Modell entscheiden, zunächst voll und ganz auf ihr Studium konzentrieren, während die Chancen eG die Gebühren übernimmt. Im Gegenzug verpflichten sich die Teilnehmer/innen, auch späteren Generationen diese Möglichkeit zu geben: Wer berufstätig ist und mehr als ein Mindesteinkommen verdient, zahlt einen prozentualen Anteil des Einkommens zur Finanzierung weiterer Studienplätze. Andere Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten wie BAföG oder Stipendien sind davon unabhängig und können zusätzlich genutzt werden.

Wenn Sie sich bei der Merz Akademie um einen Studienplatz bewerben und sich für dieses Studiengebührenmodell entscheiden, reichen Sie bitte gleichzeitig Ihre Bewerbung für den UGV bei der Chancen eG ein. Die Unterlagen, die Sie für die UGV-Bewerbung brauchen sind: Ihr Lebenslauf, ein Motivationsschreiben und Ihre Zeugnisse. Bitte beachten Sie: das Angebot richtet sich nur an Studienanfänger/innen.