Research

Creator Doctus

Prof. Dr. David Quigley vertritt die Merz Akademie im CrD-Projekt

Our ambition with this Creator Doctus project (co-funded by the Erasmus+ Programme of the European Union) is to enable Higher Arts Education Institutions in all countries signed up to the Bologna Declaration to be able to independently enter into the 3rd Cycle level with an award recognised at the same level of, and equivalent to, PhD.

Project partners are: EQ-Arts, Athens School of Fine Arts, Gerrit Rietveld Academie Amsterdam, Royal Danish Art Academy of Fine Art, École Nationale Supérieure d’Arts de Paris-Cergy, Glasgow School of Art, Vilnius Academy of Arts and Merz Akademie, represented by Prof. Dr. David Quigley.

Remediate

In its research activities, the Merz Akademie is particularly dedicated to explore the interconnection and process of mutual exchange between design, technology, art, and scholarship, thus opening up a field for research and artistic practice that is meant to speak to artists and designers as well as to scholars in the humanities.

¡REMEDIATE! is an initiative of Merz Akademie, Hochschule für Gestaltung, Kunst und Medien, Stuttgart and Akademie Schloss Solitude in cooperation with the MFG Filmförderung Baden-Württemberg and the Landesanstalt für Kommunikation Baden-Württemberg (LFK). In 2009 they got together to investigate the transition between film and new media.

Within the frame of Remediate II Merz Akademie and Akademie Schloss Solitude have realized different artistic research projects between 2013 until 2016 to work on the remediation of film, network, map and archive. All projects have been carried out by students and professors of Merz Akademie and fellows of Akademie Schloss Solitude.

RIG

Since the winter semester 2017/18, Ronald Kolb has been researching projects and activities from the last three decades with a research and intervention group on the occasion of the 100th anniversary in 2018 and has developed various teaching and event formats that were implemented in the course of the anniversary year. The aim is to reflect on the future perspectives of education, teaching and knowledge production and to relate these to the historical models that the Merz Akademie has gone through.

The research and intervention group organized workshops and a final conference in the winter semester 2018/19 under the title “learning for life” to highlight important aspects of current learning and teaching strategies. They should give impetus to reflect on current and future forms of learning and teaching.

RIG members were Hannah Horst, Jana Thierfelder (both graduates of Merz Akademie), Lukas Ludwig, Florian Model (both graduates of Stuttgart State Academy of Art and Design) and Ronald Kolb (graduate of Merz Akademie).

Research Profiles

Exhibition "DIY documenta"

Crossmedia Publishing / Film and Video

Prof. Kevin B. Lee’s work as an internationally recognized artist is regarded as an essential contribution to the development of “Videoessay” and “Desktop Documentary” into independent artistic formats between documentary form, journalism and art. A current example is the award-winning project “Bottled Songs” on extremist online propaganda in collaboration with Chloé Galibert-Laîné.

Prof. Peter Ott’s interest as a filmmaker has focused in recent years on the political development of the Syrian/North Iraq/Turkey region. He realised his feature film “The Milan Protocol” (2018) there and is also an expert and advisor on the academic film training being developed there.

Prof. Christoph Dreher’s more recent research interest focuses on the current film scene in Iran. Together with the Akademie Schloss Solitude, he organized a residency for Iranian filmmaker Shirin Barghnavard in the summer semester of 2018.

New Media

As a pioneer of “net art” and the discourse around the Internet as a space that can be shaped by the user, Prof. Olia Lialina has had a successful international exhibition and work practice for many years. For some time now she has been working as an archaeologist and conservator of early websites and has published on digital culture.

Prof. Mario Doulis is particularly concerned with virtual reality and 3D modelling, which continue the conventions of 19th century chambers of curiosities and become places of innovative learning and playing.

Ausstellung zum Theorieprojekt "Politik des Lebens, Geburt der Massaker" im Sommer 2019

Theory

Prof. Dr. Katja Diefenbach’s research focuses on concepts of matter, material and materialism in aesthetic and political philosophy, the history of theories of structuralism and post-Marxism, and the reception of Spinoza and Descartes in contemporary French philosophy. Since 1999 she has been co-editor of the b_books Verlag Berlin.

Prof. Dr. David Quigley’s artistic practice deals with the range of identities and positions in which painting, photography, video technology, collecting, curating, exhibiting, combined with historical research, writing and teaching create the conditions for inhabiting and constructing a multitude of “art worlds” (as a plural of the term “art world”). As head of the Master’s program, he deals with questions of artistic research as a method and subject of artistic education.

Dr. Jürgen Riethmüller publishes extensively on questions of cultural theory and is currently working on a publication on “Scham”, which will be published by Kadmos Verlag in 2019.

"Report_Images." Ausstellung von Prof. Julio Rondo 2017 in der Galerie Andreas Binder in München

Prof. Michael Dreyer and Prof. Joost Bottema work as freelance designers/graphic designers as well as artists: Joost Bottema is also active as an author and writer, Michael Dreyer in the field of (concept) art, painting and installation. He also deals with questions of the development of artistic teaching, studies and didactics; most recently, Michael Dreyer conceived the content and graphics of the publication series “TEACH-IN Diskursreihe zum Kunst- und Gestaltungsstudium” and was editor and co-author of the first three editions. Julio Rondo is a painter with decades of international exhibition practice.

Forschung

Creator Doctus

Prof. Dr. David Quigley vertritt die Merz Akademie im CrD-Projekt

Wie kann der dritte Abschnitt der Hochschulbildung im künstlerisch-gestalterischen Bereich aussehen? Im Rahmen des Creator Doctus Projekts beteiligt sich die Merz Akademie an dieser aktuell europaweit geführten Debatte. Teil des Projekts ist die Durchführung von Pilotprojekten zum Erwerb eines künstlerischen Abschlusses auf Doktorratsebene sowie die Arbeit an den institutionellen, inhaltlichen, didaktischen und bildungspolitischen Aspekten dieses Themas.

Projektpartner der von Erasmus+ geförderten Strategischen Partnerschaft sind EQ-Arts, die Kunstakademie Athen, die Gerrit Rietveld Academie Amsterdam, die Royal Danish Art Academy of Fine Art, die École Nationale Supérieure d’Arts de Paris-Cergy, die Glasgow School of Art, die Kunstakademie Vilnius und die Merz Akademie, vertreten durch Prof. Dr. David Quigley.

Remediate

In ihren Forschungsaktivitäten widmet sich die Merz Akademie insbesondere den Prozessen des wechselseitigen Austauschs zwischen Gestaltung, Technologie, Kunst und Wissen und eröffnet damit ein Feld für Forschung und künstlerische Praxis, das sowohl Künstler/innen, Gestalter/innen als auch Geisteswissenschaftler/innen ansprechen soll. Die wissenschaftliche Arbeit an der Hochschule berücksichtigt die Richtlinien zur Sicherung guter wissenschaftlicher Praxis.

Mit ¡REMEDIATE! haben die Merz Akademie und die Akademie Schloss Solitude – in Kooperation mit der MFG Filmförderung Baden-Württemberg und der Landesanstalt für Kommunikation – ein Projekt zur künstlerischen Forschung ins Leben gerufen. Ziel war es, die Veränderungen zu untersuchen, welche die Kulturtechniken Film und Fernsehen in der Auseinandersetzung mit den Neuen Medien erfahren. Der Begriff remediate bezieht sich dabei auf die Repräsentation eines Mediums in einem anderen beziehungsweise auf deren gegenseitige Durchdringung.

Das Projekt ¡REMEDIATE! unterstützte von 2009 bis 2016 die Bemühungen der beiden Akademien, in verstärktem Maße gestalterische Praxis und kulturwissenschaftliche Theoriebildung unter dem Gesichtspunkt der künstlerischen Forschung zusammenzuführen. Wir verstehen darunter eine Wissensproduktion, in der Erkenntnismöglichkeiten der Künste und ästhetische Bedingungen des Denkens Eingang finden. Dabei gilt es, die Eigenständigkeit einer kunstbasierten Forschung gegenüber den Tendenzen der Verwissenschaftlichung zu stärken, um Wissensbildung in Kunst und Gestaltung selbst voranzutreiben.

Zwischen 2013 bis 2016 wurden unter dem Titel Remediate II künstlerische Forschungsprojekte durchgeführt, die an Remediationen von Film, Netzwerk, Karte und Archiv arbeiten. Die Projekte wurden von Studierenden und Lehrenden der Merz Akademie und von Stipendiaten der Akademie Schloss Solitude realisiert.

RIG

Seit dem Wintersemester 2017/18 recherchierte Ronald Kolb mit einer Recherche- und Interventionsgruppe anlässlich des 100jährigen Jubiläums im Jahr 2018 Projekte und Aktivitäten aus den letzten drei Jahrzehnten und entwickelte daraus verschiedene Lehr- und Veranstaltungsformate, die im Laufe des Jubiläumsjahres umgesetzt wurden. Ziel ist, über Zukunftsperspektiven von Bildung, Lehre und Wissensproduktion nachzudenken und diese mit den historischen Modellen in Beziehung zu setzen, die die Merz Akademie durchlaufen hat.

Die Recherche- und Interventionsgruppe organisierte Workshops und eine Abschlusskonferenz im Wintersemester 2018/19 unter dem Titel „learning for life“, um wichtige Aspekte aktueller Strategien des Lernens und Lehrens herauszustellen. Sie sollen Anstoß geben, über aktuelle und zukünftige Formen des Lernens und Lehrens zu reflektieren.

RIG besteht aus Hannah Horst, Jana Thierfelder (beide Ehemalige Merz Akademie), Lukas Ludwig, Florian Model (beide Ehemalige Kunstakademie Stuttgart) und Ronald Kolb (Ehemaliger Merz Akademie).

Forschungsprofile

Ausstellung im Masterstudiengang "DIY documenta"

Bereiche Crossmedia Publishing / Film und Video

Prof. Kevin B. Lees Arbeiten als international profilierter Künstler gelten als wesentlicher Beitrag der Entwicklung von „Videoessay“ und „Desktop Documentary“ zu eigenständigen künstlerischen Formaten zwischen Dokumentarform, Journalismus und Kunst. Aktuelles Beispiel ist das preisgekrönte Projekt „Bottled Songs“ über extremistische Online Propaganda in Zusammenarbeit mit Chloé Galibert-Laîné.

Prof. Peter Ott Interesse als Filmemacher richtete sich in den letzten Jahren auf die politische Entwicklung der Region Syrien/Nordirak/Türkei. Seinen Spielfilm „Das Milan Protokoll“ (2018) hat er dort realisiert und ist außerdem Kenner und Berater der dortigen, sich im Aufbau befindlichen akademischen Filmausbildung.

Prof. Christoph Drehers jüngeres Forschungsinteresse richtet sich auf die aktuelle Filmszene im Iran. Gemeinsam mit der Akademie Schloss Solitude organisierte er eine Residency für die iranische Filmemacherin Shirin Barghnavard im Sommersemester 2018.

Bereich New Media

Als Pionierin der „Netzkunst“ und des Diskurses rund um das Internet als vom User gestaltbaren Raum hat Prof. Olia Lialina eine seit vielen Jahren erfolgreiche internationale Ausstellungs- und Werkpraxis. Seit Längerem betätigt sie sich als Archäologin und Konservatorin früher Webseiten und publiziert zu Digital Culture.

Prof. Mario Doulis befasst sich insbesondere mit Virtual Reality und 3D Modellierungen, die die Konventionen der Wunderkammern des 19. Jahrhunderts fortschreiben und zu Orten des innovativen Lernens und Spielens werden.

Ausstellung zum Theorieprojekt "Politik des Lebens, Geburt der Massaker" im Sommer 2019

Bereich Theorie

Prof. Dr. Katja Diefenbachs Forschungsschwerpunkte sind u.a. Materie-, Material- und Materialismusbegriffe in der ästhetischen und politischen Philosophie, Theoriegeschichte des Strukturalismus und des Postmarxismus sowie Spinoza- und Descartesrezeption in der französischen Gegenwartsphilosophie. Seit 1999 ist sie Mitherausgeberin des b_books Verlag Berlin.

Prof. Dr. David Quigleys künstlerische Praxis befasst sich mit der Bandbreite von Identitäten und Positionen, in denen Malerei, Fotografie, Videotechnik, Sammeln, Kuratieren, Ausstellen, verbunden mit historischer Forschung, Schreiben und Lehren die Bedingungen für das Bewohnen und den Bau einer Vielzahl von „Kunstwelten“ (als Plural des Begriffs “art world”) schaffen. Als Studiengangleiter des Masterstudiengangs befasst er sich mit Fragen der künstlerischen Forschung als Methode und Sujet der künstlerischen Ausbildung.

Dr. Jürgen Riethmüller publiziert umfangreich zu kulturtheoretischen Fragen, aktuell arbeitet er an einer Publikation zu „Scham“, die noch 2019 im Kadmos Verlag erscheinen soll.

"Report_Images." Ausstellung von Prof. Julio Rondo 2017 in der Galerie Andreas Binder in München

Prof. Michael Dreyer und Prof. Joost Bottema sind als freie Gestalter/Grafikdesigner wie auch als Künstler tätig: Joost Bottema ist v.a. auch als Autor und Schriftsteller, Michael Dreyer im Bereich von (Konzept)kunst, Malerei und Installation aktiv. Zudem befasst er sich mit Fragen der Entwicklung von künstlerischer Lehre, Studium und Didaktik; zuletzt hat Michael Dreyer dazu die Publikationsreihe TEACH-IN Diskursreihe zum Kunst- und Gestaltungsstudium in der Merz Akademie inhaltlich und grafisch konzipiert und war Herausgeber und Mitautor der ersten drei Ausgaben. Julio Rondo ist Maler mit einer seit Jahrzehnten andauernden, internationalen Ausstellungspraxis.