Prof. Dr. David Quigley

Vita

Exhibition "DIY documenta"

David Quigley is a professor for cultural theory and head of the master department at the Merz Akademie, Stuttgart. After finishing his studies in painting at the Academy of Fine Arts in Vienna and philosophy in Paris and at the University of Vienna, he went on to teach at the University of Vienna and was a research fellow at the Reina Sofia in Madrid.

Beginning in 2013, he began recording his lectures on vinyl (The History of Art on Record) or as elaborately produced videos (expanded lectures). David Quigley published the first book-length study in English of Carl Einstein Carl Einstein. A defense of the Real in 2006, and has written for many magazines and catalogs, including Afterall, Spike Art Quarterly, Multitudes and LURCH.

In the summer semester of 2023, our students traveled to the Greek island of Hydra as part of the theory project “For a new art academy… for a new Europe!” by Prof. Dr. David Quigley. The project took place in cooperation with the Athens School of Fine Art, the Hochschule für Künste Bremen and the Vilnius Academy of Arts.

More information about the excursion.

Prof. Dr. David Quigley at the graduation party in the summer semester 2017

Dr. Jürgen Riethmüller

Department of Theory

juergen.riethmueller@merz-akademie.de

Since 2009 academic researcher in the field of cultural studies, cultural history and text.

Dr. David Weber

Department of Theory

Prof. Dr. David Quigley

Vita

Ausstellung im Masterstudiengang "DIY documenta"

David Quigley ist Professor für Kulturtheorie und Leiter des Master Programms an der Merz Akademie, Stuttgart. Nach dem Studium der Malerei (Akademie der bildenden Künste) und Philosophie in Wien und Paris hat er am Museo Nacional de Arte Reina Sofia, Madrid geforscht und an der Universität Wien unterrichtet.

Seit 2013 hält er regelmäßig Vorträge, die er auf Schallplatte aufzeichnet (The History of Art on Record) oder als Video (expanded lectures) vorher produziert. Er publizierte die erste englischsprachige Monografie über Carl Einstein, Carl Einstein. A defense of the Real (2006), und schreibt Zeitschriftenbeiträge für Afterall, Spike Art Quarterly, Multitudes, LURCH sowie diverse Katalog- und Buchbeiträge.

Im Sommersemester 2023 reisten Studierenden im Rahmen des Theorie-Projektes „For a new art academy… for a new Europe!“ von Prof. Dr. David Quigley auf die griechische Insel Hydra. Das Projekt fand in Zusammenarbeit mit der Athens School of Fine Art, der Hochschule für Künste Bremen und der Vilnius Academy of Arts statt.

Mehr Infos zur Exkursion.

Prof. Dr. David Quigley bei der Abschlussfeier im Sommersemester 2017

Dr. Jürgen Riethmüller

Fachbereich Theorie

juergen.riethmueller@merz-akademie.de

Seit 2009 Akademischer Mitarbeiter im Bereich Kulturwissenschaften, Kulturgeschichte und Text.

Dr. David Weber

Fachbereich Theorie