Merz Akademie Concisely

The “Free Academy for Cognition and Design,” as the Merz Akademie was called in 1918, the year it was founded, already sought to integrate intellectual and physical work into a single process. n 1985, three years after the academy was taken over by Markus Merz, the Merz Akademie was granted state accreditation as a college of higher education [Fachhochschule] by the Ministry for Sciences and Art.

Today, with the Merz Akademies clear interest in the disciplines of the humanities, social, and cultural studies, design, and art, as well technology, the university positions itself between a classical art academy, a technical college, and a humanities faculty. The fields of study are: Crossmedia Publishing, Film and Video, New Media and Visual Communication with special interest in theory and cultural studies.

The university, administered by the Merz Akademie GmbH as a non-profit organization, was institutionally accredited by the German Council of Science and the Humanities in 2008.

The holding of the Merz Akademie is the Merz Bildungswerk, a free and non-profit educational organization, which also operates the Merz Kindergarten, the Merz Schule, the Merz Internat and the Merz Berufskolleg für Grafik-Design.

Merz Akademie Kompakt

Die Merz Akademie wurde im Jahr 1918 durch den Architekten und Reformpädagogen Albrecht Leo Merz als „Freie Akademie für Erkennen und Gestalten“ gegründet. Nach einer Neuausrichtung, die Markus Merz, ein Enkel des Gründers, initiierte, wurde die Merz Akademie 1985 als Hochschule staatlich anerkannt. Heute bietet die Merz Akademie eine innovative Ausbildung, die sowohl einem avancierten Verständnis von medialer Autorschaft als auch den Erfordernissen der Berufsfähigkeit im breiten Feld zwischen Kunst und Medientechnologie verpflichtet ist.

Mit dem dezidierten Interesse der Merz Akademie an den Disziplinen der Geistes-, Sozial- und Kulturwissenschaften, der Gestaltung und der Kunst sowie der Technologie positioniert sich die Hochschule als innovativer Lernort zwischen einer klassischen Kunstakademie, einer Gestaltungshochschule und einer geisteswissenschaftlichen Fakultät. Die Studienschwerpunkte sind: Crossmedia Publishing, Film und Video, New Media und Visuelle Kommuni­kation unter besonderer Berücksichtigung von Theorie und Kulturwissenschaft.

Die Merz Akademie, Hochschule für Gestaltung, Kunst und Medien ist vom Wissenschaftsrat institutionell akkreditiert und wird vom Land Baden-Württemberg mitfinanziert.

Dachgesellschaft der Merz Akademie ist das Merz Bildungswerk, eine Bildungsorganisation in freier, gemeinnütziger Trägerschaft, die auch den Merz Kindergarten, die Merz Schule, das Merz Internat und das Merz Berufskolleg für Grafik-Design betreibt.