Crossmedia Publishing

New Bachelor of Arts pathway starting in winter semester 2017/18

Today’s media creators and publishers must have the competence to succeed in an ever-changing mediascape comprised of text, data, audiovisual and interactive web formats. The new field of study “Crossmedia Publishing” provides students with a strong practical and theoretical background to utilize all relevant media and technologies.

From researching and authoring a story using the tools of photography, film, audio and visual design, to exploring innovative technologies such as virtual reality and live streams, students of Crossmedia Publishing draw from the established pathways “Film and Video”, “New Media” and “Visual Communication” to directly engage with the contemporary media landscape.

In addition to learning from the established pathways, students also pursue specific Crossmedia Publishing areas of knowledge and practice, including: audiovisual publishing (podcasting, streaming video and livecasting); social media management; community networking and public engagement; writing and reporting; research and data journalism; and developing innovative media content for apps and digital platforms.

Crossmedia Publishing empowers students to contend with some of the major issues of contemporary media: engaging with evolving audience behaviors using text and audiovisual media; platform migration from print and desktops to smartphones and future technologies; and the reorganization and disruption of established industries and professions. Students develop not only technical but theoretical and ethical frameworks for their Crossmedia practices.

The pathway prepares students to evaluate and pursue a wide range of professional careers related to Crossmedia publishing, including online media production, social media management and strategy and digital journalism, in a variety of professional contexts, from regional, national or international media companies to digital startups and entrepreneurships.

Crossmedia Publishing

Crossmedia Publishing Studierende erproben alle Aspekte und Formen des digitalen Publizierens.

Durch die Verbindung zu Angeboten aus den Studienbereichen Film und Video, New Media und Visuelle Kommunikation erlernen die Studierenden das Recherchieren und medienspezifische Erzählen ebenso wie den Umgang mit Text, Bild, visueller Gestaltung und innovativen Technologien, wie etwa Virtual Reality und Live Streams.

Crossmedia Publishing Studierende erproben alle Aspekte und Formen des digitalen Publizierens: wie etwa das Gestalten und den Einsatz von Blogs, Podcasts, Videostreams, Livecasts, das Management von Social Media Formaten, Community Networking und die Durchführung von Onlinekampagnen, Datenjournalismus und die Herstellung innovativer Medieninhalte für Apps und digitale Plattformen.

Das Studium versetzt Crossmedia Publishing Studierende in die Lage, den Herausforderungen einer sich wandelnden Medienwelt zu begegnen: Sie beziehen das sich stetig verändernde Nutzer/innenverhalten in ihre Arbeit ein, wissen um die Eigenarten mobiler, statischer, etablierter oder künftiger Plattformen und sind vorbereitet auf Berufsfelder und Industrien, die sich neu definieren. Ein besonderes Augenmerk legt der Studienbereich auf die theoretischen, sozialen und ethischen Fragestellungen die mit diesen Veränderungen einhergehen.

Der Studienbereich bereitet auf vielfältige Berufsfelder im Bereich Crossmedia Publishing vor: Onlinestrategien und -Medienproduktion insbesondere im Bereich von Kunst und Kultur, Social Media Management, Digitaler Journalismus und vielfältige Möglichkeiten in regionalen und internationalen Medienbetrieben oder in der Kommunikationsarbeit von kulturellen Einrichtungen, NGOs, Wirtschaftsunternehmen und Startups.