Searching Eva

Pia Hellenthal

Event Type

Film Screening

Field of Study

Crossmedia Publishing

Date & Location

Mon, 04 Nov 2019, 17:50

Related Links

Facebook

Film Screening in the Presence of Director Pia Hellenthal

Eva, 25, an Italian living in Berlin, leads a public life with all its consequences. At the age of 14 she gave herself a new name, declared privacy an outdated concept and published her first diary entry online. Since then, she has shared her life with the whole world down to the most intimate detail. She lives diverse identities: cat owner, poet, sex worker, bisexual, ex-junkie, feminist, anarchist, model, virgin…

She grew up on the Internet, where she turned her self-search into a public spectacle that raises the question of what exactly “a woman has to be”. Her reality is virtual and life is “something like an indie film” – a subjective construction directed by herself.

Pia Hellenthal is an author and director of fictional and documentary films. In 2013 she graduated from the Academy of Media Arts in Cologne with a degree in media arts. For her debut film SEARCHING EVA she received the Gerd Ruge Scholarship, the Goethe Institute Film Residency in Beirut and took part in the dok.incubator Workshop 2018.

//VERSCHOBEN – Nachholtermin im WS 20/21// Conversational Breeding

//VERSCHOBEN – Nachholtermin im WS 20/21// Fluidity of Musical Materials

Black Lives Matter, Activism and Social Media – Lecture is Online Now!

Exklusive Preview: Searching Eva

Pia Hellenthal

Art der Veranstaltung

Filmvorführung

Studienrichtung

Crossmedia Publishing

Ort & Zeit

Mo, 04. Nov 2019, 17:50 Uhr

Related Links

Facebook

Filmpreview in Anwesenheit der Regisseurin Pia Hellenthal

Eva, 25, in Berlin lebende Italienerin, führt ein öffentliches Leben, mit allen Konsequenzen. Mit 14 Jahren gab sie sich einen neuen Namen, erklärte Privatsphäre zu einem überholten Konzept und veröffentlichte ihren ersten Tagebucheintrag online. Seither teilt sie ihr Leben bis ins intimste Detail mit aller Welt. Sie lebt vielfältige Identitäten: Katzenbesitzerin, Dichterin, Sexarbeiterin, Bisexuelle, Ex-Junkie, Feministin, Anarchistin, Model, Sternzeichen Jungfrau…

Erwachsen wurde sie im Internet, wo sie aus ihrer Selbstsuche ein öffentliches Spektakel machte, das die Frage aufwirft, was „eine Frau denn genau zu sein hat“. Ihre Realität ist virtuell und das Leben ist „so etwas wie ein Indie-Film“ – eine subjektive Konstruktion unter eigener Regie.

Pia Hellenthal ist Autorin und Regisseurin für fiktionale und dokumentarische Filme. 2013 diplomierte sie im Studium der medialen Künste an der Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln. Für ihren Debütfilm SEARCHING EVA erhielt sie das Gerd Ruge Stipendium, die Goethe Institut Film Residency in Beirut und nahm am dok.incubator Workshop 2018 teil.

Creating Insights: Research and Aesthetic Discovery in the Video Essay

Wie viel Information braucht ein Spieler wirklich?