Prof. Filipa César

Vita

Filipa César (© Susana Pomba)

Portuguese artist and filmmaker Filipa César’s work engages with the fictional aspects of documentary film and the fluid boundaries between film and its reception. She is particularly interested in militant cinema and the political dimension of the moving image and the technologies used. In numerous workshops and seminars, she has already worked with students at universities in Europe and the USA, including Harvard University. She co-founded the Mediateca Onshore, an archival project and a place of learning with ancestors, nature and people in Guinea Bissau.

Together with Diana McCarty, Filipa César has been appointed to a professorship of Film and Video at Merz Akademie. In their artistic work, the duo has focused particularly on interdisciplinary projects with a feminist-critical approach.

In 2011, their collaboration began with the project “Luta ca caba inda” (The struggle is not over yet), which concerns the importance of archives for the collective memory of the war of independence in Guinea-Bissau. The cross-genre work, which has been ongoing for 10 years, has produced digital archives, short films, podcasts, and public events. The results so far are summarized in the publication “Luta ca caba inda: time place matter voice” and the essay film “Spell Reel,” which won several awards and was screened at Moma, New York, the Berlinale in 2017, among others. Last year, their latest film “Quantum Creole” also screened at the Berlinale.

In their interdisciplinary projects, César and McCarty show how their research goes beyond film production, is taken up by other means, and has an impact on current cultural and political debates. They are also co-founders of the elsehere artist association.

Prof. Christoph Dreher

Film and Video

Former Professor for Film and Video. Filmmaker, Producer and Musician.

Prof. Peter Ott

Film and Video

peter.ott@merz-akademie.de

Professor for Film and Video since 2007. Dean since 2017. Since 1992 Filmmaker, Film Producer, Numerous Film and Television Productions (Concept, Author, Director, Camera, Editing, Actor, Production).

Christine Lang

Film and Video

Filmemacherin, Kulturwissenschaftlerin

Andreas Dahn

Film and Video

Director und VFX Artist

Tobias Bechler

Film and Video

Mediengestalter IHK

Prof. Filipa César

Vita

Filipa César (© Susana Pomba)

Die portugiesische Künstlerin und Filmemacherin Filipa César befasst sich in ihren Arbeiten mit den fiktionalen Aspekten des Dokumentarfilms und den fließenden Grenzen zwischen Film und seiner Rezeption. Dabei interessiert sie sich besonders für die politische Dimension von Bewegtbild und den verwendeten Technologien. In zahlreichen Workshops und Seminaren arbeitete sie bereits mit Studierenden an Hochschulen in Europa und den USA, u.a. auch an der Harvard University. Sie ist Mitbegründerin der Mediateca Onshore, einem Archivierungsprojekt und Lernort über die Vorfahren, Natur und Bevölkerung von Guinea Bissau.

Gemeinsam mit Diana McCarty wurde sie im Sommersemester 2021 auf eine Professur für den Bereich Film und Video an der Merz Akademie berufen. Das Duo hat sich in seiner bisherigen künstlerischen Tätigkeit besonders auf interdisziplinäre Projekte mit einem feministisch-kritischem Ansatz konzentriert.

2011 begann ihre Zusammenarbeit mit dem Projekt „Luta ca caba inda“ (The struggle is not over yet), in dem es um die Bedeutung von Archiven für die kollektive Erinnerung zum Unabhängigkeitskrieg in Guinea-Bissau geht. In der seit 10 Jahren andauernden genreübergreifenden Arbeit entstanden digitale Archive, Kurzfilme, Podcasts und öffentliche Veranstaltungen. Zusammengefasst sind die bisherigen Ergebnisse in der Publikation „Luta ca caba inda: time place matter voice“ und dem Essayfilm „Spell Reel“, der mehrfach ausgezeichnet und u.a. 2017 auf der Berlinale gezeigt wurde. Im letzten Jahr lief ihr neuester Film „Quantum Creole“ ebenfalls auf der Berlinale.

In ihren interdisziplinären Projekten zeigen César und McCarty, wie ihre Forschung über Filmproduktion hinausgeht, mit anderen Mitteln aufgegriffen wird und in aktuelle kulturelle und politische Debatten wirkt. Gemeinsam sind sie Mitbegründerinnen der Künstlervereinigung elsehere.

Prof. Christoph Dreher

Film und Video

Ehemaliger Professor im Studienbereich Film und Video. Filmemacher, -produzent und Musiker.

Prof. Peter Ott

Film und Video

peter.ott@merz-akademie.de

Seit 2007 hauptamtlicher Professor im Studienbereich Film und Video. Seit 2017 Dekan. Filmemacher und Filmproduzent (Konzept, Autor, Regisseur, Kamera, Schnitt, Schauspieler, Produktion).

Christine Lang

Film und Video

Filmemacherin, Kulturwissenschaftlerin

Andreas Dahn

Film und Video

Director und VFX Artist

Tobias Bechler

Film und Video

Mediengestalter IHK