Theory

StudiumStudiumStudiumStudium

Digitalization is leading to an increasing convergence of technical practices within professional areas that are traditionally and socio-economically still extremely heterogeneous. This program, therefore, is dedicated to facilitating argumentation and work that is discriminating, principally conceptual, and theoretically based. At the same time, it reaches well beyond the individual disciplines.

Cultural theory at the Merz Academy is particularly seen as indebted to the idea of an authorship in the field of art, design, and media. The reason for the focus on authorship is in part the assessment that in a digital culture it is not only pre-existing tools–communicative or artistic–that will be used to work on tasks, but that the tools themselves will have to be worked on. The central idea is that a theoretical permeation of the cultural present is also necessary for any comprehensive awareness of the cultural, social, and politico-historical background of the field.

This authorship will mean something different for an artist than it will for a graphic designer in an agency, a documentary filmmaker, a game designer, or someone involved in VR development. The field of cultural theory helps the students to reach the demanding goal of becoming an “author in design, art, and media.” On the one hand, they should be familiar with the fundamental current discourses of these areas. On the other hand, the students should also become sensitized to contemporary tendencies of mixing the liberal arts and related fields.

With all this in mind, the theoretical subjects at the Merz Academy have been divided into three areas: Aesthetic Theory, Cultural Theory, and Art History. This is preceded by a general introduction to scholarly thinking (humanities) and work in the first semester. In turn, the three-part division of studies into the core areas Film and Video, New Media, and Visual Communication is the foundation for a further series of courses concerned with the theoretical side of these fields. This means, for instance, the theory of media, of film, and of design and their semiotics. Specific knowledge is conveyed for the core areas, and furthermore all students acquire fundamental knowledge of cultural-historical and semiological questions.

Further Information

Lecturers

Theory

Further lecturers

Projects

Theory

Theorie

StudiumStudiumStudiumStudium

Die Digitalisierung führt zu immer weiter konvergierenden technischen Praktiken in traditionell und ökonomisch-sozial noch extrem heterogenen Berufsfeldern. Daher geht es im Studium insbesondere darum, anspruchsvolles, prinzipiell konzeptionelles und theoriegestütztes Argumentieren und Arbeiten zu ermöglichen, das zugleich disziplinenübergreifend ist.

Insbesondere die Kulturtheorie an der Merz Akademie sieht sich der Idee einer Autorschaft im Feld Kunst, Gestaltung und Medien verpflichtet. Der Fokus auf die Autorschaft geht nicht zuletzt auf die Einschätzung zurück, dass in einer digitalen Kultur nicht nur mit vorgegebenen Tools an – kommunikativen oder künstlerischen – Aufgaben gearbeitet wird, sondern zugleich auch an den Tools selbst. Der zentrale Gedanke dabei ist, dass zu einer umfassenden Kenntnis der kulturellen, sozialen und politisch-historischen Hintergründe des Faches auch eine theoretische Durchdringung der kulturellen Gegenwart gehört.

Die im Studium anvisierte Autorschaft bedeutet für einen Künstler etwas anderes als für einen Grafikdesigner in einer Agentur, einen Dokumentarfilmer, einen Game-Designer oder jemanden, der an VR-Entwicklungen beteiligt ist. Der Fachbereich Kulturtheorie hilft den Studierenden, das anspruchsvolle Ziel zu erreichen, ein „Autor in Gestaltung, Kunst und Medien“ zu werden. Sie sollen einerseits mit den diesbezüglich grundlegenden Gegenwartsdiskursen vertraut gemacht werden. Andererseits sollen die Studierenden auch für zeitgenössische Tendenzen der Vermischung von freien und angewandten Künsten sensibilisiert werden.

Vor diesem Hintergrund haben sich die theoretischen Fächer an der Merz Akademie in drei Felder ausdifferenziert: Ästhetische Theorie, Kulturtheorie und Kunstgeschichte. Dem ist eine allgemein ins (geistes-)wissenschaftliche Denken und Arbeiten einführende Propädeutik im ersten Semester vorgeschaltet. Die Dreiteilung der Lehre in die Studienschwerpunkte Film und Video, New Media und Visuelle Kommunikation wiederum ist die Grundlage einer weiteren Reihe von Lehrveranstaltungen, die sich mit der theoretischen Seite dieser Felder beschäftigen. Dies meint etwa die Theorie der Medien, des Films und des Designs und ihre Semiotiken. Hier wird spezifisches Wissen für die Studienschwerpunkte vermittelt, darüber hinaus erwerben alle Studierenden grundlegende Kenntnisse kulturgeschichtlicher und zeichentheoretischer Fragen.

Weitere Informationen

Lehrende

Theorie

Weitere Lehrende

Projekte

Theorie