New Media

StudiumStudiumStudiumStudium

The program in the New Media Pathway focuses on realizing processes and interactions. Students do not simply create forms and surfaces, they also come up with tools of communication and conceive their qualities and usages.

This also always means understanding digital tools as cultural products, which can be called into question and changed according to one’s own needs. Project work is centered around actual network and interaction concepts, based on current research and reflecting visions and ideals of design and networking pioneers. Open source ethics and do-it-yourself principles also play an important role.

Alongside seminars in web design and application development, there are also courses in computational design, immersive environments, spatial interaction, interfaces and apps for mobile devices, as well as physical computing. Students receive continuing technical training and deal with the theory of digital aesthetics, the history and perspective of computer culture, and the foundations of visualization and interaction.

Due to the close alliance between teaching and research, students can participate in national and international interface design research projects. Thanks to the good connections with local and European art institutions, students take part in exhibitions and festivals, getting to know the most important venues and artists.

The program allows graduates to work successfully and innovatively in design, web, game, and interaction design agencies worldwide. Further professional fields can be found in research (for instance at the Fraunhofer Institute), internet and media art, and software development.

Further Information

Lecturers

New Media

Further lecturers

Projects

New Media

New Media

StudiumStudiumStudiumStudium

Das Studium im Pathway New Media zielt auf die Verwirklichung von Prozessen und Interaktionen. Studierende gestalten nicht einfach Formen und Oberflächen, als Autoren entwerfen sie Werkzeuge der Kommunikation und konzipieren ihre Eigenschaften und Gebrauchsweisen.

Dabei handelt es sich immer auch darum, die digitalen Werkzeuge als kulturelle Produkte zu begreifen, die in Frage gestellt und den eigenen Bedürfnissen entsprechend verändert werden können. Im Zentrum des Studiums steht die Projektarbeit mit Netzwerk- und Interaktions-Konzepten. Dabei dienen sowohl die aktuelle Forschung als auch die Visionen und Ideale der Design- und Netzwerk-Pioniere als Grundlage. Ebenso spielen Open Source Ethik und Do It Yourself Prinzipien eine wichtige Rolle.

Neben Seminaren in Web-Design und Anwendungsentwicklung finden auch Lehrveranstaltungen in Computational Design, Immersive Environments, Spacial Interaction, Interfaces und Apps für mobile Geräte sowie Physical Computing statt. Die Studierenden erhalten weiterführende Technical Trainings und beschäftigen sich mit der Theorie der digitalen Ästhetik, der Geschichte und den Perspektiven der Computer-Kultur sowie den Grundlagen der Visualisierung und Interaktion.

Aufgrund der engen Verknüpfung von Lehre und Forschung können die Studierenden in nationalen und internationalen Interface Design-Forschungsprojekten mitwirken. Dank der guten Verbindungen zu lokalen und europäischen Kunstinstitutionen nehmen die Studierenden an Ausstellungen und Festivals teil und lernen die wichtigsten Veranstaltungen und Künstler kennen.

Das Studium erlaubt den Absolventen, weltweit erfolgreich und innovativ in Design-, Web-, Game- und Interaction Design-Agenturen zu arbeiten. Weitere Berufsfelder sind in der Forschung (z.B. am Fraunhofer Institut), der Netz- und Medienkunst und der Software-Entwicklung zu finden.

Weitere Informationen

Lehrende

New Media

Weitere Lehrende

Projekte

New Media